Nevill leads World T20 squad shocks

Keeper-batsman joins Zampa, Agar in 15-man party that excludes Wade, Lyon and Boyce

Australia’s selectors have made radical changes to their squad for next month’s World T20 tournament, including the dumping of incumbent limited-overs ‘keeper Matthew Wade in favour of Test gloveman Peter Nevill, who has never played a white-ball match for his country.

AUSTRALIA’S WORLD T20 SQUAD: Steve Smith (c), David Warner (vc), Ashton Agar, Nathan Coulter-Nile, James Faulkner, Aaron Finch, John Hastings, Josh Hazlewood, Usman Khawaja, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Peter Nevill, Andrew Tye, Shane Watson, Adam Zampa

Wade, who has been Australia’s preferred limited-overs keeper since Brad Haddin retired from the formats in the wake of last year’s World Cup success, has paid the price for some inconsistent glovework and a modest runs output (albeit from limited opportunities) with the bat of late.

While Nevill’s batting in 20-over cricket is scarcely dominant – he has averaged 15.75 with a highest score of 25 and a strike rate of barely a run-per-ball in the KFC Big Bash League – the quality of his wicketkeeping could prove vital on low, slow Indian pitches.

Read full article:

Related article:World T20: Fitness, fielding major